HONORS AND AWARDS: (only most recent ones are listed here)
1975, 1977, 1979, 1985, 1986, 1990
Best Paper, Weed Science, Pest Control Council of the Philippines (PCCP).

1978, 1984 Best Paper, Crop Science Society of the Philippines (CSSP).

1975 Distinguished Award in Pest Management, PCCP.

1976 Honorary Fellow, CSSP.

1979 Marcos R. Vega Award for Outstanding Achievement in Weed Science, Weed Science Society of the Philippines (WSSP).

1979 Fellow, American Society of Agronomy (ASA).

1983 Achievement Award, CSSP.

1985 Most Outstanding Research and Development Award, Los Baños Science Community, Philippine Council for Agriculture & Resources Research & Development (PCARRD).

1985 International Service in Agronomy Award, American Society of Agronomy (ASA).

1985 Fellow, Soil Science Society of America (SSSA).

1986 International Soil Science Award, Soil Science Society of America (SSSA).

1987 Eminence Award, Bureau of Plant Industry, Philippines.

1987 Best paper award, AsianPacific Weed Science Society, Taipei, Taiwan.

1989 Second Best Paper Award, AsianPacific Weed Science Society, Seoul, Korea.

1990  Agronomic Research Award, American Society of Agronomy (ASA).

1990 UPLBCA Honorary Alumnus for 1990 (University of the Philippines at Los BañosCollege of Agriculture).

1990 Fellow, Indian Society of Soil Science.

1992 Norman Borlaug Award for Outstanding Contribution to Agricultural Sciences and Green Revolution in India.

1995 Fellow, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, India.

1997 Member, Gamma Sigma Delta Honor Society.

1997-98 Who’s Who in the South and Southwest United States.

1997 Honored by the Association of Agricultural Scientists of Indian origin for his contribution to green revolution in Asia. This award was given in conjunction with the American Society of Agronomy Meetings in Anaheim, California, USA, October 1997.

1997 Awarded the title of Honorary Professor of the Dniepropetrovsk State Agrarian University, Ukraine. Received Honorary Professor’s Certificate, December 26, 1997.

1998 Outstanding Alumnus Award, College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources, University of Hawaii, Honolulu, Hawaii, April 1998.

2000 Best Paper Award in Weed Science. Presented at the 30th annual conference of the Pest Management Council of the Philippines held at PhilRice, Nueva Ecija, Philippines on May 3-6, 2000.

2000 Fellow, Crop Science Society of America.

2000 International Service in Crop Science Award, Crop Science Society of America.

2004 Received Presidential Citation for his contribution to the Filipino people and the Green Revolution in Asia from Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo, President of the Republic of the Philippines.

2004 Clifton Garvin Award from the Virginia Tech Board of Visitors for outstanding service and dedication to Virginia Tech.

2008 Honored by the University of the Philippines at Los Baños for his outstanding contribution to research and graduate education (guided 77 M.S. and Ph. D students).

2008 Honored by the International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), Philippines for 27 years of service and outstanding contributions to rice research, the Green Revolution, and poverty reduction, as well as 16 years of service in international agricultural development in developing regions of the world.

2009 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) for his distinguished contributions to global food security, the Green Revolution, and environmental stewardship in a global context.

2011 International Plant Protection Award of Distinction